Welcome to my Blog

Thanks for visiting my little hollow on the internet.

Here you will find images and information about my work in clay, my influences and more than occasionally my politics.

To see my pots or find my contact info browse thru the tabs at the bottom of the banner on top of this page.  To see what is on my mind at the moment scroll down thru my blog.

This promises to be a work in progress.

Please have a look around.

Visit my gallery pages, drop me a comment, lift the hood, kick the tires, let me know what you think.

And don’t be a stranger.

5 Responses to “Welcome to my Blog”


  1. 2 Ron Philbeck October 23, 2008 at 6:35 am

    Steven,
    Hi. Just found you here after you left the comment on my blog. I don’t know if you remember but we met at Arrowmont years ago. You were a resident, or assistant or something. I was there taking a class with Mary Law. I overheard you say something to someone while I was there that made quite an impression on me at the time. I’m going to write about it on my blog today and link up to your site here. Hope that’s okay.
    Best,
    Ron

  2. 3 Michael October 23, 2008 at 8:44 am

    Hi Steven, Ron Philbeck sent me. I like your O-ware. Nice job. I tried really hard to come up with a design with my O pots, but it was had to come up with a red, white, and blue pallette. I look forward to reading what you’re up to. Good Luck! Welcome.

  3. 4 Steven October 23, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    Thanks Michael.
    The brilliance of Obama’s graphic design was a not insignificant factor in my early support for the junior Senator from Illinois. It was a lot of fun riffing on his logo and trying to ease it in to my usual process and motifs.
    The funny thing about Obamaware was how unnatural a process it was for a lot of us potters. I’m accustomed to having the first run of an idea be full of bugs and features. Then workshop it while trying to maintain the freshness of the idea but see an edit the weak spots. Getting just one stab at Obamaware was a ton of fun and a great learning experience.

    I’ve long admired your pots Michael and look forward to keeping in touch.

  4. 5 Russia March 30, 2010 at 1:31 pm

    Hey very nice blog!! Man .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds also…


Leave a Reply

October 2008
S M T W T F S
    Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 37 other followers

var _clustrmaps = {'url' : 'https://stevencolby.wordpress.com/', 'user' : 922619, 'server' : '4', 'id' : 'clustrmaps-widget', 'version' : 1, 'date' : '2011-08-20', 'lang' : 'en', 'corners' : 'square' };(function (){ var s = document.createElement('script'); s.type = 'text/javascript'; s.async = true; s.src = 'http://www4.clustrmaps.com/counter/map.js'; var x = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; x.parentNode.insertBefore(s, x);})();Locations of visitors to this page

