Truman

Failure is the condiment that gives success its flavor. ~Capote

Failure is the condiment that gives success its flavor. ~Capote

The good old Gordon Cooper had their annual book sale last week and I cleaned up.  I stumbled upon it the day before the election and it was the perfect thing to calm my nerves.

This year I walked away with (small to large):

Breakfast at Tiffany’s; Being There; The 158-Pound Marriage; Letters of James Agee to Father Flye; Passage to Arrarat; Libra; BUT WE LOVE YOU, CHARLIE BROWN; The Autobiography of Malcolm X;  Lush Life: biography of Billy Strayhorn; The Art of Making Sausages, Pates, and Other Charcuterie; and an old copy of Clay and Glazes for the Potter.

All for the low, low price of $5.oo!  (Liberal that I am I gave them a ten’er.)

I’ve just begun to sink my teeth into Malcolm X (more on that later), but it was Capote’s Breakfast at Tiffany’s that saw me thru my bout with the flu.  A 74 page novella, it was perfect to engage with, a page or two at a time, between winks and sneezes.  I had seen the movie in my college days, during my brief but torrid love affair with Audrey , and hadn’t thought of it again until I saw it outside the good old Gordon Cooper, begging for someone to take it home.

It is all charm, set around the corner from Sallinger’s Glass Family.  A writer reflects upon a memorable flat mate from his youth, Miss Holiday Golightly.  Early on we are told about their first face-to-face in which Holly invites our narrator to read aloud from his work:

I made us both a drink and, settling in a chair opposite, began to read to her, my voice a little shaky with a combination of stage fright and enthusiasm: it was a new story, I’d finished it the day before, and that inevitable sense of shortcoming had not had time to develop.

I’m sure I got my $.2o worth in that sentence alone.

It is funny writing new words for public consumption every day.  I’m the kind of writer who checks and re-checks his e-mails before they go out.  Never a good student, I’ll lose sleep at night, wondering, if my commas managed to land in the correct places.  Regardless of how much time I’ll put in – that inevitable sense of shortcoming always does set in.  Which is a big reason I began this blog in the first place.

I’m attracted to this format like I am attracted to making cups.  There is something not so precious about a blog post.  The blog acts as a sketch book and catch-all for the flow of consciousness.  I don’t worry about each post so much as the integrity of the blog itself.  Some posts are quick, some are deep, some personal, some are just to fill space and occasionally some are under the influence.  It’s a whole is greater…situation, and it has had the effect of removing the preciousness from my written words.  The sense of shortcoming remains, but more and more I’m able to quiet it.

Thanks to my few readers for abiding my poor punctuation and the interesting word usages I structure.

And thank you, Truman.

4 Responses to “Truman”


  1. 1 Ron November 11, 2008 at 8:05 am

    Hi, Seymour here, Well really it’s Ron. I enjoyed that quiz and it wasn’t all that surprising. At least I’m still alive.

    I’ll have to check out Breakfast at Tiffany’s .

    I started reading ZMM again after you mentioned it not long ago. I had read some of it in high school but realize that I never got very far. Of course I understand more of it now (and some I do not), but it was cool to learn that Robert DeWeese is Josh’s father and that Voulkos is even mentioned in the book. Weird.

    Anyhow I’m into Part III now and moving right along.

    Thanks for the great posts.

  2. 2 Steven November 11, 2008 at 8:24 am

    It’s A Perfect Day for Bananafish!

    I once got to talk to Josh about that.
    He was out here for a workshop @CCC and we took him out to a local hotspring. He says Pirsig ‘nailed his Dad, but totally missed the mark on his Mother’.

    Enjoy the ride.

  3. 3 Michael November 11, 2008 at 8:26 am

    I too, wonder about comma placement, parenthesis, italics…and on and on. I think we can make a few analogies to pot making. Frequency and repetition, and variety, as in words/poems/novels, and film/cinema/movies all start to seem like the other.

    Thanks.


  1. 1 “It is, in many ways, writing out loud. “ « Steven Colby: potter Trackback on November 16, 2008 at 6:30 pm

Leave a Reply

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 37 other followers

var _clustrmaps = {'url' : 'https://stevencolby.wordpress.com/', 'user' : 922619, 'server' : '4', 'id' : 'clustrmaps-widget', 'version' : 1, 'date' : '2011-08-20', 'lang' : 'en', 'corners' : 'square' };(function (){ var s = document.createElement('script'); s.type = 'text/javascript'; s.async = true; s.src = 'http://www4.clustrmaps.com/counter/map.js'; var x = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; x.parentNode.insertBefore(s, x);})();Locations of visitors to this page

