I wish I made it…

13th century Baluster Jugs

13th century Baluster Jugs

A reader recently commented that a jug of mine reminded her of medieval English water jugs.

Above is an an image of some of my favorite pots from this time.  While working on jugs in my studio, I invariably think of these pots and the jugs made by Michael Simon.  I owe a great debt to both.

I can’t seem to come up with an image of a M. Simon jug…

Here is a pot made in demonstration by Michael during a workshop at Baltimore Clayworks c.2000:

Michael Simon Jar

It holds my coffee beans and I get to interact with it almost daily.  It has taught me a ton over the years and I wish I made it

2 Responses to “I wish I made it…”


  1. 1 Michael November 17, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    That MS looks nice It looks like some I saw Michael make in the mid-late eighties. Michael made the nicest pitchers. It’s a beauty. So are the two medieval ones.

  2. 2 barb jensen November 18, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    I like the title of this post. i wish I had made them too. Wonderful pieces! I like your work too, by the way…
    Oh, and I also enjoy your music postings. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 37 other followers

var _clustrmaps = {'url' : 'https://stevencolby.wordpress.com/', 'user' : 922619, 'server' : '4', 'id' : 'clustrmaps-widget', 'version' : 1, 'date' : '2011-08-20', 'lang' : 'en', 'corners' : 'square' };(function (){ var s = document.createElement('script'); s.type = 'text/javascript'; s.async = true; s.src = 'http://www4.clustrmaps.com/counter/map.js'; var x = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; x.parentNode.insertBefore(s, x);})();Locations of visitors to this page

