Pots from the past…

Salt Fired- cone 1; C.2002

Salt Fired- cone 1; C.2002

I’ve got pots cooling down and pots waiting to go in.  I’ll try to snap some preveiw pics this evening.  In the mean time I realized that I’m not seeing any pots on this blog so here is an archival image.

I made this jar while a resident artist at the Carbondale Clay Center shortly after I moved to town.  I was playing with low-fire salt on a red sandy clay – putting a bunch of soda ash in my white slip which was hell on my brushes, but good for the pots.   With our new salt kiln at SAW, I’m thinking of getting back to this kind of work come spring.

2 Responses to “Pots from the past…”


  1. 1 ron December 1, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    I’m loving that jar! I’m planning on getting some earthenware into the salt kiln as soon as I get up the nerve to make enough to sacrifice.

  2. 2 barb jensen December 2, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    The image under the stripes looks mysterious. Kind of like a fish…
    Sweet pot.


Leave a Reply

Detail from Pitcher - 9.o9

lunch plate ; circa 2oo9

December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 37 other followers

var _clustrmaps = {'url' : 'https://stevencolby.wordpress.com/', 'user' : 922619, 'server' : '4', 'id' : 'clustrmaps-widget', 'version' : 1, 'date' : '2011-08-20', 'lang' : 'en', 'corners' : 'square' };(function (){ var s = document.createElement('script'); s.type = 'text/javascript'; s.async = true; s.src = 'http://www4.clustrmaps.com/counter/map.js'; var x = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; x.parentNode.insertBefore(s, x);})();Locations of visitors to this page

