Isaac Button can throw a ton of clay into pots in a day

I was first shown this film by Linda Sikora in ’97 when I was still struggling with centering clay.  I was reminded of it this evening while poking around Doug Fitch’s blog.

I’ve been thinking about going BIG with my lidded jars.  For me – that means anything over 15″ tall and round.  Mostly I’m interested in having greater surface area with which to work, but I’m also gearing up to test and stretch my technical and physical limits on the wheel.

Watching Isaac work – I’m not so intimidated.  I’m actually afraid I won’t find sleep tonite – so anxious am I to get to the studio and wrestle with 2o or so pounds.

I’m also thinking of wearing a tie and digging out my old pipe, but that’s another story…

2 Responses to “Isaac Button can throw a ton of clay into pots in a day”


  1. 1 doug fitch February 22, 2009 at 6:58 am

    It’s a wonderful film isn’t it? I saw it for the first time when I was a student over twenty years ago, I was partly inspired and part of me felt like giving up! Those Michael Hunt pots are beautiful. I look forward to seeing your new pots coming through. Best wishes from England, Doug

  2. 2 Rob Cartelli March 1, 2009 at 11:20 pm

    I only discovered that video a few months ago, but have watched it countless times since. It’s friggin’ mesmerizing. I’d love to find a copy of the whole thing. I also have felt the urge to throw on a shirt and tie before heading into the studio after watching Isaac.


Leave a Reply

Detail from Pitcher - 9.o9

lunch plate ; circa 2oo9

February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 37 other followers

var _clustrmaps = {'url' : 'https://stevencolby.wordpress.com/', 'user' : 922619, 'server' : '4', 'id' : 'clustrmaps-widget', 'version' : 1, 'date' : '2011-08-20', 'lang' : 'en', 'corners' : 'square' };(function (){ var s = document.createElement('script'); s.type = 'text/javascript'; s.async = true; s.src = 'http://www4.clustrmaps.com/counter/map.js'; var x = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; x.parentNode.insertBefore(s, x);})();Locations of visitors to this page

