where i’m going…

steven-colby-sancai-jar

Well i’m off for Texas in the morning.  Thought it be nice to leave the blog with an image of a recent pot that is a leaping off point for my work moving forward.

This jar is a culmination of so many of my interests over the years: Tang dynasty sancai ware, Ogata Kenzan, Minoan marine jars, Cy Twombly’s peonies etc… all synthesised into my process.

At the moment I’m trying to pull a more subtle slip underpainting beneath these melty flowers in the foreground.  I’m anxious to get back at it following the tour.

I’m hoping to sell enough pottery to feel good about buying a camera for studio/blog use upon my return.  Wish me luck…

6 Responses to “where i’m going…”


  1. 1 ron May 3, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    Steven, this is a beauty. All the best with the Texas tour! Best,
    Ron

  2. 2 ang May 3, 2009 at 7:38 pm

    v. cool i love the drippy glaze bits..have great tour.

  3. 3 jim May 4, 2009 at 8:17 am

    nice jar… if you decide on a camera, i’d be interested to know what you decide to get… i’ve given up looking, too many choices, not enough money

  4. 4 ron May 11, 2009 at 4:53 pm

    My pal John just bought a Canon PowerShot SX10 IS. I like it a lot. He really researched it. I have an older PowerShot so the features were familiar to me. It shoots video too which I like. I think it’s basically one step down from a SLR digital. Around $369.

  5. 5 Steven May 14, 2009 at 8:11 am

    thanks for the tips, Ron.

    I went for the impulse buy and ended up with a plumb colored touch screen coolpix all in type package that was on post Mother’s Day Special for $200. I think it’ll be perfect for studio and road trip documentation.

    Still runnin around in Texas – but I’ll jazz up this joint once I get back.
    and
    Ran into a Philbeck Obamaware mug at our hosts home a couple days ago – nice surprise.

  6. 6 tech4top.com August 24, 2014 at 11:31 pm

    I’ve read some excellent stuff here. Definitely price bookmarking for revisiting.
    I wonder how so much attempt you place to create this type of fantastic informative web
    site.


Leave a Reply

Detail from Pitcher - 9.o9

lunch plate ; circa 2oo9

May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 37 other followers

var _clustrmaps = {'url' : 'https://stevencolby.wordpress.com/', 'user' : 922619, 'server' : '4', 'id' : 'clustrmaps-widget', 'version' : 1, 'date' : '2011-08-20', 'lang' : 'en', 'corners' : 'square' };(function (){ var s = document.createElement('script'); s.type = 'text/javascript'; s.async = true; s.src = 'http://www4.clustrmaps.com/counter/map.js'; var x = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; x.parentNode.insertBefore(s, x);})();Locations of visitors to this page

