The ones that go away…

Sencai Jar, Steven Colby

I may have been a bit ambitious thinking that I’d be getting into the studio anytime soon.  Life on the road made anything seem possible.  Now that I’m back in Bonedale the realities of obligations and daily grind have caught me rearranging priorities.

I’m moving house and home – closing on the 29th and moving back into old town Carbondale.  Also shifting my space at SAW on the 1st of June – so don’t look for too much studio posting before that.  I’ll try to keep the blog fresh w/ images from the road and maybe some music.

The kiln load I squeezed out before heading off to Texas was one of the best batches of pots I’ve pushed thru in awhile.  Sadly, I did not get to document the work before taking it out on the road.

One of my great dilemmas in making pots is dealing with the ones that go away.  I don’t mind it so much when they’ve been sitting around for awhile – or even if I have the opportunity to take a good look at them during a photo shoot.  It’s the ones that have barely cooled down that slip away that I always seem to miss.

Above is one of the 4 brand new jars that i left in the wake of the Artstream Texas Tour.  It has found a great home and I’m sure I’ll get to visit it again – but I do wish I had a couple better photos.

As I’m planning on making applications for graduate school over the next couple months – i hope to get better at taking the time to photograph all the pots that are moving the ball forward.  I think it is an essential part of the ceramic process for a professional potter and I’m trying to become more and more professional.  So even as I enter the silly season of weekly sales at the Aspen Farmers market mixed with other shows and commitments – look out for shots of moving the ball forward.

I’m wondering if any of my potter/readers have similar attachment issues and how that has changed over your careers or how the phenomena has effected the ways you make, think about, document and distribute your work.  Any thoughts would be welcome.

3 Responses to “The ones that go away…”


  1. 1 jim May 24, 2009 at 7:46 am

    beauty of a jar

  2. 2 Michael Kline May 24, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    Attachement issues? Sometimes when I am flush, I try to keep a few good pots that really grab me. I wonder why these pots grab me and keep them around to figure that out. I think it’s a good practice to keep your best pots, but most of the time it’s impractical with two kids and bills, etc.

  3. 3 Michael Kline May 24, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    Oh, btw, I love that horizontal line on that jar. It really is genius.


Leave a Reply

May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 37 other followers

var _clustrmaps = {'url' : 'https://stevencolby.wordpress.com/', 'user' : 922619, 'server' : '4', 'id' : 'clustrmaps-widget', 'version' : 1, 'date' : '2011-08-20', 'lang' : 'en', 'corners' : 'square' };(function (){ var s = document.createElement('script'); s.type = 'text/javascript'; s.async = true; s.src = 'http://www4.clustrmaps.com/counter/map.js'; var x = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; x.parentNode.insertBefore(s, x);})();Locations of visitors to this page

