mug of the moment…

DSCN0852

Alleghany Meadows; 2oo5

The big move had me pack up my too big pots collection and make some decisions.  I have all my pots with me, mostly, but only very few are out of their cardboard boxes.

I allowed myself the time in my packing process to select ‘cups and mugs for now’; ‘plates and bowls for now’ etc… About half a dozen of each and they have gone into pretty heavy rotation.

I’m quite liking the simplicity of selection each morning and getting to know better certain pots that have been in my life for awhile now.

Above is a mug that Ghany made @ Penland during our Spring Concentration in ‘o5.  It’s loaded w/ sentiment because of that association – but also one hell of a mug.  The negative space in the handle is just loaded w/ tension and dicipline.  I didn’t quite capture it this morning  – but that first tuck in of the handle comes ever so close to contacting the mug  – yet does not.  I could have caught a sliver of daylight poking thru in that spot – had i a bit more coffee running thru me.

Whatya want at these prices?

1 Response to “mug of the moment…”


  1. 1 jim June 30, 2009 at 8:47 am

    love the handle on that mug


Leave a Reply

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 37 other followers

var _clustrmaps = {'url' : 'https://stevencolby.wordpress.com/', 'user' : 922619, 'server' : '4', 'id' : 'clustrmaps-widget', 'version' : 1, 'date' : '2011-08-20', 'lang' : 'en', 'corners' : 'square' };(function (){ var s = document.createElement('script'); s.type = 'text/javascript'; s.async = true; s.src = 'http://www4.clustrmaps.com/counter/map.js'; var x = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; x.parentNode.insertBefore(s, x);})();Locations of visitors to this page

